My Experience at Southern Seminary’s Preview Day

Southern Baptist Theological Seminary. SBTS is a widely-respected theological institution from both within and out of the Southern Baptist Convention. It is the flagship school for the SBC and a leader for the conservative tradition, though this wasn’t always the case. I had the great privilege of visiting this historic institution on October 17-19 for prospective students’ preview day. I traveled to Louisville, KY and found this trip to be, overall, an edifying and encouraging experience. The following is some highlights of my experience. Words cannot do justice to how great my experience was.

I was surrounded by 200+ prospective students who, for the most part, seemed to care for solid biblical and theological training. Perhaps that was the underlying and unifying conviction, outside of orthodox faith in Jesus Christ,  that united so many students from all different walks of theological and ecclesiastical walks of life. It was refreshing. I was able to meet many young men, like myself, who had desires to pastor,  plant churches, and go to the mission fields, both domestic and international. I was also surrounded by faculty who had a desire to get to know and engage students. I felt like I had known those professors for years. They took time to get to know us on an individual level, asking about who we are, where we are from, our call to ministry, what program we are interested in applying for, etc. I was impressed by seminary president R. Albert Mohler. I must say that I have been a fan of Dr. Mohler’s. I deeply appreciate his willingness to stand for Christ in the public square, and in particular, the secular media like CNN, MSNBC, FOX, etc. I had always appreciated his efforts in turning SBTS from liberalism to orthodox Christian teaching (ex: affirming inerrancy of Scripture, complimentarianism), but it was at preview day that we watched a video celebrating Mohler’s 20th year anniversary as president, where I grew a deeper appreciation for him and his labors at SBTS.

Some other great things: the campus is beautiful. The SBTS library has one of the largest theological libraries in America. The prospective students were allowed in President Mohler’s home, in which, we were privileged to see his library (over 40,000 books). The current students were extremely welcoming and encouraging towards us prospective students.

There are many other things I could say about the campus, the seminary’s curriculum, faculty and current students (which are all positive). I do just want to say, perhaps, the most influential aspect of Southern Seminary is its unwavering commitment to the gospel of Jesus Christ and the Word of God. Everything about SBTS is Christ-centered and exalting. My experience was great. I hope to apply and see if the Lord allows for me to attend.

Leave a Reply

